forbytten blogs

Hack The Box Cyber Apocalypse 2024

Last update:

Having enjoyed last year’s event, I returned to participate in the Cyber Apocalypse 2024: Hacker Royale CTF (Capture the Flag) competition hosted by Hack The Box.

The event took place between March 9, 2024 1pm UTC and March 14, 2024 12:59pm UTC and was open to anyone to participate for free, with a maximum team size of 20. There were 67 challenges in total, with a spread of difficulties and almost the same categories of challenges as last year, minus the machine learning category.

There were 12965 players spread across 5694 teams. Similar to last years event, I chose to participate in a solo team named ‘out in time’. The event was a great experience - it’s amazing how much one can learn in just five days - and once again, as expected from Hack The Box, the quality of the challenges was high.

I managed to improve my standing from last year, completing 35 out of 67 challenges and placing a rank of 235, shown in the image below, which pleasingly puts me within the top 5% of teams, albeit there may be a long tale of beginner teams.

My writeups can be found here.

In a solo team, I completed 35 out of 67 challenges and ranked 235 out of 5694 teams